James River Day School

Skip to main content
Please Create A Marquee

All School Awards & Graduation

This year's All School Awards went smoothly and was an grand opportunity to reward students who have worked hard to be, and do, their best. Please congratulate the following students.
Edna Gilchrist Scholarship Award - Lucas Miller (4th grade)
Mary DuVal Horner Leadership Award - Virginia Haga (8th grade)
Sheree H. Bowen Award - Katharine Caprise (8th grade)
Edwin Nelson James, Jr. Athletic Award - Eli Wood (8th grade)
Daughters of the American Revolution Youth Citizenship Medal - Lilly Lewis (8th grade)
Citizenship Awards - Charlotte Hellewell (3rd grade) and Henry Pratt (4th grade)
Alma McCarthy Award - Aubrey Herbers (4th grade)
Clunet Pettyjohn, Jr. Award - Mary Macon Pettyjohn (8th grade)
Neil Dooley Awards - Sophie Heishman (4th grade) and Harrison Irby (8th grade)
Scholar Award (8th grade) - Katharine Caprise and Virginia Haga
We also paid tribute to a long-time teacher and dear friend, Mrs. Winkie Schoew, who was awarded the William M. Walker Family Meritorious Teacher Award. Winkie is retiring and we will miss her and her skill as a teacher.
Please watch for our upcoming announcement in the News & Advance (Sunday, June 17) congratulating our 2018 graduates, our 2014 alumni, and our honor roll and high honors scholars.
The end of the year has come and gone. The class of 2018 has transitioned from being eighth graders to alumni. We congratulate our newest graduates and wish them well as they journey onward, becoming the scholars, leaders, and citizens we've always known they could be.