Board of Trustees

Our trustees are enthusiastic about the mission of the School, and its Head, faculty, students, and curriculum.

These dedicated volunteers oversee the School's mission, vision, and strategic goals in monthly meetings. The Board is accountable for the financial stability and sustainability of the School and has primary responsibility for the preservation of capital assets and endowments, overseeing operating budgets, and participating actively in fundraising. The Board selects, evaluates, and sets appropriate compensation for the Head of School; the Trustees are not, however, involved in the day-to-day management of the School. James River Day School is guided by this Board of Trustees with the objective of ensuring that the institution operates within the guidelines of a college preparatory, community day school for qualified students. The Board is a policy-setting, evaluative entity; the Head of School is the day-to-day manager and interpreter of the Board's policies. The Board of Trustees for this school year is as follows.
The Executive Committee:
Mrs. Elaine B. Passman, Chair
Mrs. Ashleigh N. Lineberry, Vice Chair
Mr. J. Sutton Tinsley, Treasurer
Mrs. Candace T. Caprise, Secretary

Board Members:
Mr. William R. Barksdale IV
Dr. Subhasish Bose
Mr. Michael A. Brogan
Dr. Omar Y. Elkhamra
Dr. Denise L. Fenton
Mr. Kevin M. Gill
Mrs. Meghan M. Moss
Dr. Traci M. Ogbu
Mrs. Kristen H. O'Neill
Mr. Edgar J. T. Perrow, Jr.
Mrs. Kate Blickenstaff Poats
Mrs. Swathi Prabhu
Mr. Robert B. Taylor, Jr.
Mrs. Kathryn C. Yarzebinski
Mr. James C. Kughn, Jr. (Emeritus)
Mr. Peter H. York, Head of School (Ex-Officio)